At Optimum Asset Management (OAM), we strive to maximize the return on our clients' portfolios while minimizing investment risk.

The definition of risk may vary from one client to another. Some clients want to protect their portfolios from market declines, and for them we use absolute risk management. Others, who are usually institutional investors, want to avoid returns that underperform a benchmark index. In this case we use relative risk management.

Even so, some risks concern all types of investor at once, such as the default risk of corporate bonds. OAM's philosophy is to invest only in investment-grade securities rated BBB or higher and to limit their already substantial weighting in client portfolios. Even though some managers overweight this asset class significantly, OAM's philosophy is to invest only in investment-grade securities rated BBB or higher and to limit their already substantial weighting in client portfolios. Even though some managers overweight this asset class significantly, OAM prefers to ensure diversification, such as by emphasizing municipal notes with their attractive risk-return profiles.

In all cases, whether to manage risks or to maximize performance, OAM's managers use models and mathematical tools, developed primarily in house, to assist them with their investment decisions. This quantitive component is an integral part of our management philosophy.

Chez Optimum Gestion dePlacements (OGP), nous travaillons à maximiser le rendement des portefeuilles de nos clients tout en minimisant le risque d'investissement.

La définition du risque peut varier d'un client à un autre. Dans certains cas, le client souhaite protéger son portefeuille contre des baisses de marché. On parle alors d'une gestion absolue des risques. Dans d'autres cas, certains investisseurs, normalement institutionnels, souhaitent éviter d'obtenir des rendements en deçà d'un indice de référence défini. On parle alors d'une gestion relative des risques.

Certains risques préoccupent toutefois tous les types d'investisseurs à la fois, tel que le risque de défaut des titres obligataires corporatifs. À ce niveau, OGP a pour philosophie de n'investir que dans des titres de bonnes qualités classés BBB ou plus et de ne pas trop augmenter le poids de ces derniers, déjà très important, dans les portefeuilles clients. Alors que plusieurs gestionnaires surpondèrent cette classe d'actif de façon importante, OGP favorise la diversification en investissant entre autre dans des titres municipaux qui offrent des caractéristiques rendement-risque intéressantes.

Dans tous les cas, que ce soit pour gérer les risques ou pour maximiser la performance, les gestionnaires d'OGP font appels à des modèles et des outils mathématiques, pour la plupart développés à l'interne, afin de les soutenir dans leurs décisions de placement. Cette composante est appelée «quantitative» et fait partie intégrante de notre philosophie de gestion.